Compliments of google image search for pouchitis

I think I am officially over my first crack at pouchitis. I don’t know if I should throw a party…or just a pity party.

My Pouchitis Symptoms have been this:

  • Sore throat
  • Sniffles
  • Dry eyes
  • Low grade to high fever. (99.4 – 101)
  • Difficulty emptying the pouch
  • Increased frequency, not crazy increased but just more than usual
  • Stomach pain
  • Lack of appetite (mostly due to the pain)

It all started last Wednesday, today is Thursday and I am feeling like I’m good to go for the most part. I spent a lot of this time asking my friends with pouches, how their previous experiences with pouchitis felt. Many of them had very similar experiences, many thought it wasn’t pouchitis at all. So…long story short, it is very helpful to have pouch friends. But in the end, if you have even a worry, try to get your doctor to give you the antibiotics. Everyone said they felt better within a day of taking them…not me. But I do think they worked. Who knows, maybe it was just a cold or something, but it sucked, and I’m a glutton for drugs that make me feel better.

It does make me nervous that just a few months post takedown I’m already having pouchitis. I’ve talked to a few people who have confirmed and denied my fears. Who the crap knows what that means. I guess we’ll see. Overall my pouch has been rad, so lets hope that this isn’t a sign of things changing.

