Disclaimer: I cannot believe I am making this post. I am no model. I am no super model. I am damn sure not Jessica from Uncover Ostomy. And I’d be lying if I said I didn’t retouch these photos a smidge…but its also hard to stare at yourself…so I didn’t make them perfect. Deal with it.

For those of you who get to enjoy summer all year long..I hate you. Here in Michigan, we’re experiencing our last few weeks of late summer, in conjunction with fall and it is awesome. For a SUPER long time I have been on the hunt for a retro style high-waisted bathing suit, to cover my disaster stomach, and also for those of you ladies still rockin’ the stoma. Well…it took me a LONG time, because I didn’t want to pay $100 +. After much hunting, I found a very nice woman named Priscilla on Esty. Her Etsy shop is called BeBops, and she makes custom bathing suits. I was a little hesitant about buying a home made suit because those things are hard to make, but I contacted her and asked her a few questions about her suits. The great thing about her suits, is that she offers a lot of mix and match for bottoms and tops. She also has suits for less than $100. So I decided to wing it, given that my criteria was that it had to be cute, high -waisted, and less than $100. After contacting Priscilla, she asked for my measurements, and my color choices as well as style and she went to work. I think I got my suit in like 2 weeks or so. Not bad.

When I got my suit I was so impressed. She had wrapped it all cute and had a thank you card in it. Presentation is everything to me! Anyway. The suit is awesome. It is just as good as a store bought suit, if not better quality. I mean honestly I wish I could put a sample of the stitching on the internet so you could feel it. The suit I got was blue with red/white trim and is super cute. The bottoms are able to be worn totally high, or can be folded down a little. I prefer it folded down a little because when it is all the way up I think it looks funny. This is just because I have a super short torso, but I bet on taller woman it would be absolutely fine.

Against my better judgement, I have decided to post pictures. Oh god oh god oh god. The pictures aren’t perfect, I’m not a model, quit judging…but at least you can see how high they go. My thoughts from the beginning is that this suit and others that she offers would be PERFECT for ladies with ostomies, that don’t want to wear one pieces. Granted these suits are not made specifically for woman with ostomies, but they are also not as expensive as those suits are. If I hadn’t been so fat when I had my ostomy, I would have been wearing this suit all the time. So check out Priscilla’s shop, tell her I sent you!

This bring me to my next topic, which is how to prepare your appliance for swimming. Dennis at the UCVlog.com, did a swimming with an ostomy video. Its got a lot of good info in there, so instead of just repeating him, you can watch his video.

And for the ladies (and men) out there who are proud of their ostomies, and their bodies, I bring you to my next video. I stumbled across this video a few months ago and I absolutely LOVED IT. I don’t know who this girl is, but her idea is fantastic. I wish she could sell it. I think this is a great option for men who don’t want to cover their bags with a t-shirt, or just don’t want their bag hanging out. Basically her idea revolved around stoma caps…and creative duct tape. Its genius!

And my last suggestion is to use Hy-Tape to tape around your appliance. I think Dennis mentions it in his video. Its a pink tape, but its waterproof and sticks pretty well. Your supplier or their website can give you a free sample.

Long story short…there is no perfect way to swim with an ostomy. But having an ostomy…is no reason not to swim.

