I know that I promised you all a weight loss video soon, so this post probably is ill timed. Oh well.

I haven’t been able to work out as much as I would like due to my life schedule. Its not that work makes me so busy, or that school does, or that my personal life gets in the way. Its D) All of the above. My life schedule right now is insane. So long story short, I only get to work with my trainer, Todd, once a week on Mondays for now. This is clearly not enough. I used to work with him 3 times a week and then on my own at least 2 times a week (but this was back when I was a crazy lady).

So I went in to workout yesterday and we started with the ropes. Like the biggest loser ropes (see picture).

Biggest loser ropes

So when I do the ropes its usually like this:

Fast waves with my arms going at different times for like 30 seconds or something. Then I do an immediate wall sit for about 25 seconds, then break for 25 seconds. Then repeat that cycle with big waves, then small waves arms together, big waves arms together, figure 8’s with the ropes, and then stupid jumping jacks with the ropes. Those suck. You look like a complete moron and its really hard.

Then after that, I push this mat along the ground to a certain point do a somersault over it, then push it back and forth with a somersault for 3 minutes. Then I rest for what feels like 2 seconds but is probably more like a minute.

Repeat.

So this is what I did yesterday. Todd referred to this as an “advanced workout”. After I finished the first set of the ropes and the mat push I felt like I was going to die. Literally. Abnormally like dying. So much so that Todd took my heart rate and confirmed that I was dying. Not really, but did say that it was over 150 at the time. Todd’s workout style is high output so there isn’t a lot of rest time. So I was encouraged to get up and do it all again, when I thought I might die. So I did, and after the ropes I was really feeling awful. Kinda like I wanted to puke, but even more so confused as to why I couldn’t do this work out. We’ve done similar ones before, and it didn’t seem that hard. So instead of doing the mat again, I promptly went and got some water, laid down and tried to calm my heart. After about 10 minutes I was still at a 140 heart rate, which is not normal for me.

I was bummed. Defeated. Disappointed. Why does it feel like workouts are getting harder? What gives?

Well…I don’t know. I don’t have an answer. All I know is that it really got me down for a while. In the back of my head though was Todd. He’s the one who finally got through to me that the more you put yourself down in these situations the worse it gets not only mentally, but it has a physical effect on you. So I took some time, and then went outside and “ran” a super slow mile. That sucked too. BUT, once I got in my groove, it started to feel ok. Like I could have kept going. I am not a moron, so I didn’t keep going but I ended on a note that made me feel like, I wasn’t totally defeated.

So the moral of the story is, sometimes workouts are hard and make you feel like you’re going backwards. The reality is that there will always be a workout that will kick your ass, or someone who can do it better than you can. But you can’t let it get to you. Just because it was a hard workout doesn’t mean that you suck at everything workout related. I mean I am a wall sitting rock star. At least I think I am, and frankly that’s all that matters.

This is plank position

I remember when Todd and I first started working out in early 2011 and he told me to do a bridge walk. This is where you get into plank position, and move your arms and legs to make your body move sideways like you’re walking on your arms and toes. I thought I was going to die. I was so weak and unhealthy that it was SUPER hard. Well a couple weeks later I was bridge walking across the mat. Its still hard, but now I know that I can do it, and I have learned that is a large portion of the battle to working out.

Super skinny models will tell you working out is a mental battle and all it makes you want to do is shove a cheese burger down their throats and sit on them. Well, I am not a super skinny model and I will tell you, honestly, it really is. When I’m running on the treadmill sometimes Todd stands next to me and will tell me I’m a ninja, or he will call me “Athlete”. I’m not kidding repeating over and over “I can do this” makes it more possible. It doesn’t make it easier, but it makes it possible.I still give up sometimes when things get hard, but giving up isn’t my first instinct anymore. Instead I encourage myself to keep going, and only after I push myself to do something better/harder/faster do I give myself permission to stop.

(Insert life lesson about working hard, never giving up, and being positive here)

 

