I wrote this last Wednesday. 4 days post break up.


Today I feel like I can do anything.

I got a tattoo today. It says “go your own way”.

Inspired by the famous Fleetwood mac song, Go Your Own way started out my day today as an anthem for me.

Loving you
Isn’t the right thing to do
How can I ever change things
That I feel
If I could
Maybe I’d give you my world
How can I
When you won’t take it from me
You can go your own way
Go your own way
You can call it
Another lonely day
You can go your own way
Go your own way

I know its not right to be in love with my ex boyfriend. I know that our time is over and that we will not work anymore in the way that we once did. I could give him my world, my love, my fragile heart again, and he wouldn’t take it and love it in return.

I have chosen to go my own way on this one, knowing that it is not his way. This decision on its own has been liberating, terrifying and absolutely heart wrenching all at the same time.

Today I was listening to this song, and I did a morning run and the more times I listened to the song the meaning started to change. It still very much fits in my life and the recent crumbling of my relationship, but I realized that this is a good reminder for life. I can always go my own way. I can always choose the path that is right for me, even if it doesn’t involve someone I care about. With the same token, its a choice that I’d like to give anyone else is my life too. You can go your own way too, if my way isn’t working for you.

We are not trapped by anything in life.

I know power trips can be fleeting, but I need to remember how I feel right now. I need to know that I am ok, and that I will be ok. I know all of those things at this very second. I know that all is right in the world today. My heart hurts, but it will be ok.

The way I have chosen to go, is the right one.

I chose to get this tattoo in about a matter of 5 minutes. I did reading on the song and the break up of the members of Fleetwood Mac, and within 10 minutes I was driving to the tattoo shop.

Impulsive post-breakup action: Check.

I dont care if this turns out to be a less than stellar idea in a few hours when I’m done riding this high. I need a reminder for the days that don’t feel as full of optimism as this one does. I can look at this, and hopefully be reminded everyday of how “ok” I felt when I ran to the tattoo shop to tattoo Fleetwood Mac on my body.

