Man have I been busy.

I feel like I’m so disconnected from you guys. Sad face.

But here is what I’ve been doing, which is some pretty awesome stuff. This is how the last 10 days went.

Fly to Chicago.

Meet up with Lauren, volunteer at their CCFA office. Have a great super awesome time doing puzzles, drinking wine, and watching Dawson’s Creek.

Drive 4 hours to Wapaca, WI with Andrea from GMB for Camp!

Closing ceremony to Oasis WI

Man, I love camp. Every time I’m at camp I wonder why I didn’t think about that as a career choice back in my younger years. Camp makes people better versions of themselves. I do love it. Oasis Wisconsin was very different from Michigan. Not bad different, just different. So many things were different and some of them I prefer. Some of them I’d like to take home and adopt them into our MI camp. Anyway…it was interesting being the new counselor…who wasn’t new. I definitely felt on the outside for a day or so, which reminded me what it was like to be the newbie, and to make sure that I’m always including new people. At the same time it reminded me that its good to be out of your comfort zone, try new things, meet new people. The beauty of it all is that when you’re at Oasis, you know they’re going to be good people. I was lucky to have Andrea and Megan there with me, which helped to soften the entrance to the group. The most obvious thing that I noticed about their camp was that…it didn’t seem like a camp for sick kids or counselors. The kids at this camp were noticeably more healthy than our kids, and same goes for counselors. Granted there were about 80 kids at WI and about 150 at MI, so perhaps that other half is all sickies. I’m not sure. It was very different in that aspect though.

Camp ends…an hour later drive to Appleton Airport. Fly to Minnesota. Then fly to Denver.

Get to Denver, get driven in a murdered out escape to my super boss hotel. Change out of camp clothes into adult clothes. Go meet the people who are at this patient panel, eat dinner, go back to my room…pass the fuck out.

Wake up at 6am…shower for the first time in a day or 2 (but who is counting). Proceed to have an amazing meeting.

There were none of these 😦

I got to Denver and I was all “Is that fog? A building? What the hell is that?”. I also didn’t see a single mountain. I began to think I didn’t land in Denver at all. Whelp, turns out, there are some serious wild fires happening over there, and there is just smoke upon smoke upon smoke. Hence the fog/wall I thought was seeing and why there were no mountains. Boo.

I signed some non-disclosure agreement saying I wouldn’t say what we talked about at this meeting. I probably can’t even say that I was at a meet that I can’t talk about. BUT…a large pharmaceutical company gathered patients together to talk about medications, newly diagnosed patients, and other patient related things. I must say, after this meeting I have a whole new respect for big pharma. I no longer just think it’s a big fat man, who resembles the Monopoly guy, sitting behind a desk playing around in freshly cut $100 bills. They actually are pretty normal looking. None of them wore a tux. Not a single one. I really think that these people want to help patients. They want to understand them, and make sure they are meeting their needs. That was refreshing and also reassuring.

Meeting ends around 5:00pm. Go to my room, order room service. Pass the fuck out.

Wake up at 6:00am. Get picked up…fly to Minnesota….fly home. Get puppies. Sleeeeeeeeeeeep.

After being in 3 time zones, 5 airports, and 5 planes…I am tired. Whooped. Beat. Cashed. D) All of the above.

I havent put this bod through that much ‘stress” in a long time and I am happy to report that she help up pretty well. I’m SUPER tired. I have had shitty sleep and I’m been feeling a little “off” since I got home, but there was a lot of travel and food I couldn’t control in there. Overall…pretty stoke that I had these opportunities and that I was able to take part in them without any limits! Go j-pouch!
I got home, slept for a bit and got back to the grind. Back to work, back to planning my ass off for Girls With Guts. You guys, that is going to turn into something beautiful and I am so excited for when I finally get to disclose everything we are doing! I think you’re going to be pumped too! Also Charis is coming to town next week. Giggle fest to ensue.

