This past weekend, Charis came to visit so we could work on some Girls With Guts stuff, and more importantly so we could have a little bit of fun. It seemed like we’ve been working our asses off lately, so it was nice to just hang out and have a few laughs. We did more planning for upcoming big changes, but we also met with our location for our event next year! More info to come! I really think everyone is totally going to love it!

What I really want to write about is the mud run we did. It was the Down and Dirty Mud Run and the breakdown is a 5K with obstacles along the way. This is the race that I started running for. Initially I thought that I would just run this race over the summer and train for months to get ready for it….the reality is that I did a “test” run in June as my first official 5K….and the rest as you all know is history. I started running, learned to love it, and the mud run just ended up being an added bonus!

The race started with a huge hill a few hundred yards in front of us, and if you’re a runner like me, seeing a hill like that is annoying and frustrating. I equate a hill like that to pure dread that does nothing but make me huff and puff. So we get up the first hill and I’m all “YAY the hill was conquered!”. Haha, joke was on me. The whole first mile or so of this race was mountains. I have lived in Michigan my whole life, and my geography teachers should be shot in the face because they never taught us about the mountains that are hidden within our Metro Parks. Those shit heads. The good news is that it wasn’t just me, Charis had a hard time with the hills too, and so did everyone other freakin person in the race. I’ve never seen so much walking at a race. I am an expert at this point…as this was my 4th race, so clearly I know everything at this point.

Anyway…the obstacles were pretty awesome. There was a lot of climbing, and crawling and such. There was a big walk through the lake and of course the mud. Mud is an interesting substance. It has the ability to seep through skin tight clothes and clump under the material. When I eventually changed my clothes…I was astounded as just how much mud had made it into…other parts of my body. Like my ears. Just my ears people.

I was surprised at how easy I found the obstacles, considering they were where most of my fear was directed. I was afraid I’d be too tired to complete them well…or even at all. But I gotta tell you Internet, I felt like a damn rockstar. It was like the obstacles weren’t even there. Up and over cargo nets, climbing walls, slippery walls, whatever. I did it, and I did it well.

Also, shockingly, I didn’t sound like a cow in heat while doing it either. Due to the nature of the race, I could bring along my precious headphones. I was horrified at the prospect of listening to myself gasp for breath for 3 miles. But yet again, I surprised myself. Once I got my breathing steady, not only did I not really pay attention to it, but I didn’t have to think to keep it steady. This shit is starting to come naturally, ya’ll.

I do want to clarify one thing about all of my recent posting about running. I remember very clearly a time in my life when all of this was not possible. Not even fathomable. I hope you all don’t feel like I’m posting these stories and photos because I’m bragging or flaunting how great I feel. My intention is to tell you all if you’re in the hospital or feeling awful…I’ve been there too. Remember me? 6 surgeries, 3 ostomies, complications, the Multiple Sclerosis patient? Its not like I’m the epitome of health over here. But I really WANTED to be able to do this…so I trained. When I feel good…I train. When I feel like shit..I don’t. Simple as that. I want you all to know that you CAN do this. Its not a matter of your IBD being better/worse than mine. Its not a factor of how out of shape you are or how weak you feel. What it all comes down to is the effort you put into it.

Right now, I’m still pretty amazed at how far my body has come. I’m even more shocked at how important I find “fitness” to be now. I have always been told how much exercise helps patients with MS and the key to maintaining my mobility in the future is moving. That was never enough motivation for me. Doing it…and the feeling I get after doing it is enough for me now. Working out and training to run is hard. Its not always fun, but after doing a race, or accomplishing something in the gym, I feel pretty awesome. Just remember if you’re in a bad place with your health right now, it doesn’t mean you’ll always be there. Set goals and do what you can to achieve them. I’m telling you, it works.

