In February I did this post about why I don’t fundraise. Well as many of you might have noticed….I am fundraising for Team Challenge.

So, what gives?

Well, I still feel exactly the same way I did when I made that video and posted that blog. I think many fundraising events are boring and uninspired. Ask people to raise a bunch of money, walk a few miles and chat with their friends. Meh. Put all that money towards “research”, whatever the hell that means. Find a “cure”, and whatever other bullshit there is.

Now don’t get me wrong. It is important that people do these events because someone somewhere is actually doing research. So you know, good on you guys for that.

But it’s just not my thing. Also…again. I have boat loads of diseased friends. I couldn’t possibly financially support ALL of their walks, golf events, runs…etc.

So Jackie, why the hell are you doing Team Challenge?

I started running and all of my runner IBD friends have done Team Challenge and told me how amazing and life altering it is. And when I made that video I was still like..uh…fuck that.

Then I ran some more and then I learned more about Team Challenge. I like the money structure of TC because literally 75% of the money raised goes to research and more importantly camp. Camp is what struck the chord. 2 Years ago we had to cut back the number of kids we brought to the MI camp because of a lack of funding and that broke my heart. So when I started to run, and kinda liked it, and then realized I could raise money for camp, I was like….whelp…I guess I’m doing it.

Also, for me, this is about me too. I’m not just walking a few miles and chatting with friends. I have to push myself. I have to work. I have to want it or else it wont happen. Its about how far my body has come in the last few years from death bed to potential 1/2 marathon.

So it is mildly selfish because I want to do Team Challenge for ME. But at the same time, the cause means so much to me. It was like serendipity that it all came into my life right now. I met my great “crazy ass gazelle” friends, as Charis calls them. I made that fundraising video. Then all of us met up in Chicago and at that time they were all training for a different Team Challenge event and I kept making jokes about getting donuts while they would be out running.

And now. I’m one of them. I’m a crazy ass gazelle. Team Challenge gives me the opportunity to raise money for a cause that changed my life. It gives me a reason to continue running and to do it further and harder than I ever have. And in the end, it also gives me an experience. It brings me together with my old friends and new friends and lets us share something that is really special.

That is why I am fundraising for Team Challenge.

And by the way…I am at 48% of my goal already! Which is sort of amazing.

If you’re a Team Challenge participant I am making/selling these bracelets to help me raise money.

I am also making ones that say “I run for _____” and insert your person/place/thing on the line 🙂

If you’re interested in buying one, please donate and make a note, or just email me. Thanks guys!

 

