2015 was by far the worst year for my entire 31 years on this earth. You may remember that I fell off the planet and didn’t write for the majority of the entire year and that when I came back I promised that I’d explain it all, but the further we got into 2015 and the further we get away from it the less I want to go back through it all. So I’m not going to rehash it. I just decided. Like this second I decided that. However, I proclaimed to my Facebook friends a month or so ago that I would write a book. I wrote about a chapter and stopped because it got too hard to relive events of 2015. I hope that the further we get away from it, the more I can write, and deliver on this book that I’ve promised myself that I would write.


And now I promise you. I will write this book. You probably don’t care, lol. But I do and I feel like I just need to get this book out of my system. Life goal, bucket list, catharsis and D) all of the above. This book needs to be written.

So because this year was SO fucking terrible, I’m going to just focus on the good things that happened. Because some good things happened even though they were over shadowed by the suck. So here we go.

 

2015 Recap of ONLY good shit

  1. Roller Derby
    • I FINALLY passed my roller derby skills assessment and tried out and MADE a team. Then when tryouts came along again this past November, I made the team AGAIN. This was a huge deal to me. I don’t think I wrote about it here but in 2014 I took the skills assessment test 2 times and failed both times. It was devastating. So to pass this year and make a team (twice) was huge. I played in 4 or 5 bouts with my team and I fucking loved it. Roller derby is my jam and it brings me so much happiness. My league has been a god send to me this past year and especially my derby wife, Snarky, who has been on this ride with me from the beginning. She’s become an amazing support on and off the track.
  2. Third Annual Girls With Guts retreat
    • We hosted our third annual retreat in Oregon this year. I’d say hands down it was our best retreat. I will also say that due to the events of this year, I was not mentally 100% in this retreat. If you attended and I was a bit flaky or distant, I offer my sincerest apologies. Normally, I’m very engaged but this year, I just really wasn’t myself. Please come next year, it’s going to be the best yet. I’m very excited about our location!
  3. Working Full Time for Girls With Guts
    • While I was still very thankful for the opportunity I was given for my career (that I’ve written about here), the past three years have taught me that big corporate life is not really my style. Through a lot of soul-searching, number crunching, and advice asking, I decided to quit my big cushy job, and become a poor non-profit employee…for GIRLS WITH GUTS!!! I started November 2nd working for GWG, which has been a labor of volunteer love until now. It’s such an amazing opportunity. It may only last year, but I’m doing it, and that’s more than most people can say.
  4. Self Love and Discovery
    • I am adamantly working on myself. This is a journey I never expected to start, hell, it’s one that I didn’t know even existed frankly. It’s hard work and I don’t see the finish line just yet but I’m happy to be doing it.
  5. New and Old Friends
    • When tragedy strikes you truly do find out who will stand by you and who doesn’t. I have some of the most amazing friends a lady could ask for. This year I’ve also found some new friends or strengthened some relationships. If you held my hand through this year in any way. Thank you. I literally could not have done it without you.
  6. Family
    • I’ve learned more about my family in the past 12 months than I did in the past 31 years. The good, the bad and the heartbreaking. I’ve never been more thankful to call my family mine.
